1999 Award Recipients


Read about our 1999 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Award Recipients below.You can see all years of award recipients here.

George M. Irwin, Quincy

Founder’s Award

Irwin played a significant role in the preservation of eleven Quincy landmarks, the establishment of many of Quincy’s key preservation organizations and the invigoration of the state’s cultural life

Read more

George M. Pullman Elementary School, Chicago

Preservation Project of the Year

Chicago Public Schools, Bauer Latoza Studio and Restoration Works, Inc. were awarded for the restoration of the 87-year-old George M. Pullman Elementary School in Chicago. The restoration involved tuckpointing and cleaning masonry and terracotta.

Read more

Heurtley House, Oak Park

Restoration, Rehabilitation or Adaptive Reuse Award

John Thorpe, Edward & Diana Baehrend, and Voc-Dreele-Freerksen Construction Co. received one of two such awards this year for the restoration of the Heurtley House, Oak Park. The house was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and is widely acknowledged as a masterpiece of the Prairie Style of architecture.

Read more

Easton Mansion, Peoria

Restoration, Rehabilitation or Adaptive Reuse Award

Jane B. Converse was also honored for the restoration of the 1881 Second Empire-style Easton Mansion at 1125 Main St., Peoria. The once-magnificent estate, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and located in Peoria’s Historic District, was deteriorating when Converse purchased it in 1997.

Read more

Galena High School, Galena

Oustanding Public and/or Private Leadership Award

The high school was awarded for the restoration of its concrete steps. The staircase, built in the 1920s, climbs the hill overlooking the river valley and is an important community landmark.

Read more

Board of Managers for the Powell Press Building Kenyon & Associates, Peoria

Outstanding Public and/or Private Leadership Award

The award honored the recipients’ efforts moving and restoring the Powell Press Building. The structure, one of the oldest in Peoria’s Central Business Area, was given to the Central Illinois Landmarks Foundation by Caterpillar Inc.

Read more

Landmarks Division of the City of Chicago Department of Planning and Development, Chicago

Effective and Accurate Preservation Coverage Award

The department created the Chicago Landmarks website, www.ci.chi.il.us.landmarks, which communicates with clarity and completeness a wealth of information for the general public, both those interested in preservation and preservation professionals.

Read more

Libertyville American Legion Post No. 32, Libertyville

Exceptional Advocacy Effort Award

The American Legion Post received the award for the restoration of the Cupola to the Old Town Hall, which is now the Legion’s meeting hall. The architectural gem, designed by William W. Boyington, was built 1894, likely Boyington’s last commission and a grand Romanesque statement.

Read more

Lake County Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve and David Woodhouse Architects, Lake County

Appropriate New Construction or Infill Award

The groups received the award for the renovation and first phase of expansion of the Lake County Museum. An important regional history museum located in a 1920s dairy farm, the Lake County Museum needed additional space for exhibitions, education and recreation

Read more

Canal Corridor Association’s Sesquicentennial Celebration

Innovative and Effective Programs Award

When the I&M Canal was completed in 1848, it connected New York Harbor and New Orleans, giving impetus to the meteoric growth in Chicago, forever changing Illinois’ landscape.

Read more

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member