Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards

Driehaus Logo

For the past 27 years, the Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards has honored individuals, organizations, projects and programs whose work demonstrate a commitment to historic preservation. A generous grant from the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation enables Landmarks Illinois to present awards annually in various categories. The awards ceremony is held each fall.


Nominations now open!

Nomination deadline: June 1

Landmarks Illinois is accepting nominations for the 2021 Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards. The annual awards program honors individuals, organizations, projects and programs in Illinois whose work demonstrates a commitment to excellence in preservation and protects the historic places that matter to people and their communities.

Awards will be selected from the following general categories:

  • Advocacy: An effective local or statewide campaign to preserve and protect a historic resource.
  • Leadership: Individual, municipality, private organization or joint partnership that has championed historic preservation, planning or public policy.
  • Preservation: Projects that make possible the continued use of a historic commercial/industrial buildings, multi-family/affordable housing residences, public/institutional structures or preserves a cultural heritage site.
  • Environmental Sustainability: Mitigation of climate change through preservation technologies

To honor the memory and creative spirit of Richard H. Driehaus, Landmarks Illinois’ longtime partner in preservation, one of the 2021 selected winners will receive the Richard H. Driehaus Legacy Award, which will be presented to a forward-thinking individual or an exemplary project that represents innovation in preservation.  Download our Nomination Guidelines to learn if your project qualifies for an award and how to submit an application.

Submit a nomination

Previous Award Recipients

Learn about award recipients of the Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards from 1994 to today.

Past Award Recipients

Landmarks Illinois Annual Corporate Sponsors











Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member