Skyline Council

committee of young professionals

Skyline Council is Landmarks Illinois’ committee of young professionals. It consists of more than 30 emerging leaders with an interest in historic preservation, the built environment and sustaining healthy communities. Through service, social engagement and advocacy, Skyline Council members promote Landmarks Illinois’ mission to empower individuals to save places that are important to them while strengthening their networks. Skyline Council was founded in 2011.

Skyline Council organizes and presents networking and fundraising events throughout the year. Its signature events include the Skyline Social, the Skyline Historic Pub Crawl and the highly popular Skyline Trivia Night.

Skyline Council Long-term Service Project

Utilizing members’ wide range of expertise in several career disciplines, the Skyline Council began working with the Village of Campton Hills in 2015 to restore the Whitney Schoolhouse, a one-room schoolhouse constructed in 1852 by John Whitney. The Skyline Council prepared a Relocation and Reuse Study for the Campton Hills Township Board of Trustees on the schoolhouse, which identified Gray Willows – 208-acres of open space in Campton Township with rolling meadows, woodlands, oak savannas and Ferson Creek – as the most suitable new location for the historic schoolhouse. The Skyline Council goal is to see the schoolhouse repurposed into an environmental education center at the township-owned Gray Willows Farm in Campton Hills, which is already home to the Monarch Corridor restoration program, native wetlands, Wheaton College Living Laboratory classes, native oak propagation and Boy Scouts of America campgrounds. The Skyline Council plans to continue to pursue funding in 2018 for moving the schoolhouse, including applying for a grant through Kane County’s Grand Victoria Riverboat Fund.

Download the Relocation and Reuse Study

View upcoming Skyline Council events.

Benefits of Skyline Council Membership

Members of Skyline Council are also members of Landmarks Illinois. Benefits of joining Skyline Council include:

  • Invitation to become a member of the Skyline Council Committee and serve in a leadership role
  • Invitation to attend monthly Skyline Council Committee meetings
  • Subscription to quarterly “The Arch” newsletter
  • 50% discount on admission to the world-renowned Farnsworth House designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
  • Discounts on educational or networking opportunities
  • Invitation to all Landmarks Illinois and Skyline Council events
  • Advance notice of Preservation Snapshots lectures
  • Subscription to three Landmarks Illinois e-newsletters: Preservation in the News; Preservation Events; and Action Alerts
  • Knowledge that you are doing your part to preserve Illinois’ invaluable heritage

Join or Support the Skyline Council

Curious about becoming a Skyline Council member or learning more about its events? Interested in sponsoring Skyline Council events and programming? Email Tiffanie Williams or call (312) 922-1742.

Skyline Social 2015, International Museum of Surgical Science, Chicago (Photo credit: Allison Evans)

Skyline Social 2014, Chicago Board of Trade. (Photo credit: Bob Eldmore)

Skyline Council Trivia Night 2016, Revolution Brewery, Chicago (Photo credit: Matt Seymour)

Skyline Social 2015, International Museum of Surgical Science, Chicago (Photo credit: Allison Evans)

Skyline Councl members in front of the Whitney Schoolhouse, 2015. (Photo credit: Tiffanie Williams)

Skyline Council Leadership


Gregory Dowell, Chair

Since 2009, Greg has worked for Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. as an associate. Greg has participated in a variety of projects including condition assessments, construction document preparation, and construction observation for a variety of building systems. His expertise includes preservation and restoration of historic buildings and structures as well as field documentation and investigation. Greg is a member of the Landmarks Illinois Fund and Easement Committee.

Eric Dexter, Vice Chair

Eric has worked for Berglund Construction for more than 10 years. As a project manager, Eric is responsible for the administration and execution of successful restoration projects. His projects include UIC’s University Hall, Shedd Aquarium, Federal Plaza, 1000 N. Lake Shore Drive, and Chicago Public Safety Headquarters. Eric received a Bachelor of Architecture and Construction Management at the Illinois Institute of Technology. He is serving on the jury for Landmark Illinois’ 2016 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards.

Sarah Van Domelen, Secretary

Sarah joined Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (WJE) in 2010 and is a senior associate working on projects involving historic and contemporary buildings. Sarah has completed numerous field investigations for WJE and has made repair recommendations and developed restoration details for various types of construction including steel, reinforced concrete, and masonry structures. Sarah worked as a teaching assistant for the Architectural Conservation Laboratory while receiving her master’s of science in historic preservation at the University of Pennsylvania.

Erica Ruggiero, Chair, Special Projects & Initiatives

Erica is an Architectural Historian with the architecture firm McGuire Igleski & Associates. Erica is the primary preparer of preservation planning reports, historic resource surveys, façade restorations, local and national landmark designations, and building condition assessments projects. Erica graduated in 2014 from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where she received a master’s of science in historic preservation. She served as secretary of the Skyline Council in 2015-2016. Erica has spearheaded Skyline Council’s work on the restoration of the Whitney Schoolhouse in Campton Hills.


Skyline Council Committee Members

Gregory Dowell, Chair

Eric Dexter, Vice Chair

Erica Ruggiero, Service Projects

Sarah Van Domelen, Secretary

Erica Block

Susanna Craib-Cox

Chris Enck

Krista Gnatt

Justin Kreindler

Chelsea Medek

Matt Seymour

Brian Snedden

Kate Stanger

Chris Thomas

Rachel Will

Skyline Council Members

Melanie Bishop

Rachel Cole

Gwen Evans

Rachel Firgens

Anne Frigo

Marlise Fratinardo

Anne Frigo

Lauren Garvey

Monica Giacomucci

Lindsay Morgan

Katherine Pohl

Jeff Runck

Laura Schuetz

Meredith Stewart

Allison Toonen-Talamo

Jill Tuinier

Susie Trexler

Emily Tribbia

Brooke Voris

David Weirick

Tiffanie Williams

Meet our Skyline Council Members

Lauren Garvey

Lauren Garvey is a Project Manager at Klein & Hoffman, an architecture and structural engineering firm in Chicago. Four years ago, Garvey joined Landmarks Illinois’ Skyline Council to meet other young professionals in the industry with shared interests. Read our full interview with Lauren and learn about her work in preservation and why she thinks you should come to the Skyline Council’s August 10th Summer Mixer!

Read More

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member