2011 Award Recipients


Read about our 2011 Richard H. Driehaus Preservation Award Recipients below. You can see all years of award recipients here.

Ancel House, Glencoe

Award for Restoration

Ellen and David Muslin purchased this property, designed by Edward Dart in 1961, with the intent to raze the house and subdivide the property. The neighborhood fought this demolition plan in order to save both the character of the neighborhood and this significant mid-century home.

Read more

Champaign County Courthouse, Urbana

Award for Reconstruction

Constructed in 1901, the original clock tower of the Champaign County Courthouse stood over 40 feet taller than prior to the restoration. The clock tower was the victim of multiple lightning strikes, which over time caused it to be drastically truncated.

Read more

Classic Cinemas, Various Locations

Award for Stewardship

The Tivoli Theatre was the first of many theatres purchased and restored to form the Classic Cinemas Chain, which was created in 1976. Willis, along with his wife Shirley, and eventually his son Chris, have restored 13 theatres across Illinois.

Read more

Clayville Restoration Project, Pleasant Plains

Award for Advocacy

The Clayville historic site was originally restored in the 1960’s by Dr. Emmet Peterson as a place to train historic site managers and educate the public in the history of the area through demonstrations and reenactments.

Read more

Jay and Mary Matson, Galesburg

President’s Award for Lifetime Achievement

Jay Matson’s fight to save Seminary Street in Galesburg began when the Sandburg Mall opened nearby. This new mall greatly affected main street area businesses, including Matson’s wife’s store, The Calico Cat, cutting its volume back by 80 percent.

Read more

Municipal Center River Wall and Plaza, St. Charles

Award for Restoration

Designed and built in the 1940’s by famed architect R. Harold Zook, the St. Charles Municipal Center River Wall and Plaza is a striking work in the art moderne-style, flanked by the scenic Fox River.

Read more

Parkside Aparments, Kewanee

Award for Adaptive Use

Originally known as the Parkside Hotel when it was built in 1915, then in 1950 as the Hotel Kewanee and now the new Parkside Apartments which has undergone a major rehabilitation.

Read more

Scully Building, Lincoln

Award for Rehabilitation

In 2001, this 1907 red sandstone structure was devastated by a fire, damaged greatly by both the flames and water damage. Subsequent years of disuse and neglect further deteriorated the building, until local residents Patrick and April Doolin of Integrity Holdings purchased the property in 2009.

Read more

Sullivan Center, Chicago

Award for Restoration – Project of the Year

The former Carson Pirie Scott department store, designed by Louis Sullivan in 1898 with additions constructed as late as 1961, was purchased in 2001 by Joseph Freed and Associates.

Read more

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member