2010 Award Recipients


Read about our 2010 Richard H. Driehaus Preservation Award Recipients below. You can see all years of award recipients here.

The Buckingham Building, Chicago

Award for Adaptive Use

Completed in 1930 and named for the neighboring fountain, the Buckingham is a 27-story Art Deco building designed by Holabird & Root, located near Michigan Avenue and facing Grant Park. Vacated in 2002, however, the building was largely ignored by its owner.

Read more

Preservation Summer at Souther Illinois University, Carbondale

Award for Education – Project of the Year

Preservation summer is an interdisciplinary, community oriented class for graduates and undergraduates. Each summer a different hands-on history and/or preservation project is completed by the students and “community listeners.”

Read more

Polo Historical Society, Polo

Award for Leadership

The preservation of the tiny Ogle County town of Polo is due to the efforts of two entities: the Polo Historical Society and the preservation partnership of Jim O’Connor and Christina Lee-Grogan.

Read more

Carolyn Oxtoby, Springfield

Lifetime Achievement Award

Carolyn Oxtoby has spent over three decades advocating for the preservation of historic buildings in Springfield, particularly in its downtown, where commercial buildings have often been threatened with demolition and replacement.

Read more

Harlan Hall, Marshall

Award for Rehabilitation

Built in 1872, Harlan Hall served as the town’s opera house, with a stable on the first floor; it later served as a Moose Lodge. After being threatened with demolition to become a parking lot, the building attracted the attention of local advocates who pushed for saving it.

Read more

Haskell, Barker and Atwater Buildings, Chicago

Award for Restoration

These three buildings (Haskell and Barker, 1875; Atwater, 1877) are part of the Sullivan Center, and are some of the earliest post-fire commercial buildings. Built in a Classical Revival style, they feature two Sullivan facades (1896) and elaborate masonry cornices.

Read more

Chautauqua Pavillion, Pana

Award for Restoration

Built in 1911 as part of the Chautauqua Movement in New York and central Illinois, the pavilion in Kitchell park was constructed to be the permanent home of Pana’s annual Chautauqua events.

Read more

St. John's Episcopal Church, Quincy

Award for Reconstruction

This historic (1852) church, one of the oldest buildings in Quincy, had undergone a series of renovations over its life. A lightning strike in August 2002 caused significant fire damage to the roof, original nave and tower and several more recent additions.

Read more

University Commons, Chicago

President’s Award

South Water Market, designed by Fugard and Knapps and built in 1925, served as the major produce distribution market in Chicago, the largest of its type at the time of construction. Six warehouses occupy the site, the longest being over 800 feet, and have matching terra cotta facades.

Read more

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member