2007 Award Recipients


Read about our 2007 Richard H. Driehaus Preservation Award Recipients below.You can see all years of award recipients here.

Water Tower Preservation Campaign, Paxton

Award for Advocacy

After more than two decades of planning and ongoing fundraising, east central Illinois’ Ford County Museum opened to the public this summer. Multimedia exhibits on local history now occupy this former water pump house, which was constructed in 1887 with a large water tower to protect the city from fires.

Wigell-Carlson Residence, Rockford

Award for Rehabilitation

In the late-1980s, this Prairie-style residence sat unheated and deteriorating awaiting demolition. After 13 years of neglect, a local foundation was able to purchase the property and secure a new owner who has completely restored the house to its original 1908 appearance.

Illinois State Capitol - Legislative Chambers Restoration, Springfield

Award for Preservation – Project of the Year

The current state capitol building, which is the sixth in Illinois history, was completed in 1887. Over the years, the ornate interiors of both the House and Senate chambers were frequently remodeled. In the restoration, both spaces were outfitted with modern mechanical systems before they were returned to their original grandeur.

Medinah Temple / Tree Studios Block, Chicago

President’s Award

In recent years, the Near North Side has seen tremendous growth and countless high-rise developments. When a residential tower and parking garage were proposed in 1999 for this site, both preservationists and the City of Chicago advocated for an adaptive use of the historic buildings. A local developer rose to the challenge and saved the entire block from demolition.

Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Powerhouse, Chicago

Award for Adaptive Use

Located immediately north of the Ogilvie Transportation Center and identified by its 200-foot tall smokestack, this 1911 industrial structure has been transformed into a vibrant mixed-use facility.

Avery Coonley House, Riverside

Award for Restoration

Considered one of architect Frank Lloyd Wright’s greatest commissions from his “Oak Park period,” the main house of the Coonley Estate has been fully restored, including its 1913 Jens Jensen landscape.

Gifford Park Association, Elgin

Award for Leadership

This group of neighbors has been promoting architectural appreciation for almost 30 years through their annual house tour, preservation revolving fund, and an incentive program to remove artificial siding from historic buildings. The group’s leadership in its own neighborhood encouraged city officials to implement several programs citywide.

Music Store, Chicago

Award for Restoration

Built in collaboration with architect William Presto, the signature foliate ornament of this Lincoln Square commercial building – architect Louis Sullivan’s last commissioned design – was stabilized by new owners in time for the 150th anniversary of Sullivan’s birth.

Muirhead Farmhouse, Plato Center

Award for Rehabilitation

Completed in 1951, this Usonian-style residence was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. The term Usonia refers to Wright’s democratic approach to affordable housing in the years following the Great Depression. Muirhead family descendants have rehabilitated the farmhouse as a bed and breakfast – one of only six Wright properties in the U.S. currently open to overnight guests.

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member