Award for Public Leadership

Kane County Board

Kane County

Few local governments have been as supportive of historic preservation as Kane County, which is located at the western edge of the Chicago metropolitan area. Under the longtime leadership of Chairman Mike McCoy, the Kane County Board has promoted a wide range of preservation initiatives. These include: the first county preservation commission in Illinois, the state’s first rural historic district, a program to conserve “rustic roads,” a rural structures survey, a barn rehabilitation program, an historic preservation plan and bricks-and-mortar grant support for dozens of historic properties—ranging from a windmill and corn cribs to house museums, railroad depots and schools.

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member