1994 Award Recipients


Read about our 1994 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Award Recipients below. You can see all years of award recipients here.

The Baha’i House of Worship, Wilmette

Preservation Project of the Year

Architects Madsen, Kneppers & Associates, Inc., a team of contractors, craftsmen and countless others all played a part in a program carefully planned and executed under the leadership of Robert F. Armbruster, Director of the Temple Restoration Group.

Read more

Jeanette Fields, Chicago

Distinguished Illinois Preservationist

Jeanette was the first director of the Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) and began the now famous architectural walking tours of Chicago in 1971. She is Architectural Editor of the Wednesday Journal, an Oak Park newspaper, and has raised preservation awareness in the community since 1981.

Read more

Kenyon & Associates and the Pekin Park District, Pekin

Bricks and Mortar

The award judges were impressed by the determination of the Pekin Park District and architects Kenyon & Associates to restore the Mineral Springs Park Pavilion, a cherished community landmark, to its original beauty.

Read more

Preservation and Conservation Association and the Discovery Place for the Kid’s Building Fair, Champaign

Educational Program

The award honors the novelty and effectiveness of the Kid’s Building Fair program. In 1992, Preservation and Conservation Association (PACA) and the Discovery Place began the fair to introduce children to the building trades and historic preservation.

Read more

Kevin Cullen, Danville

Media Award

Kevin Cullen has exhibited a longtime commitment to preservation through his writing and hands-on work at the Danville Commercial News. He educates his community about its architecture and history.

Read more

Diane Gonzalez, Chicago

Preservation Advocacy Award

Diane’s steadfast commitment to preservation in Chicago’s Old Town Triangle Historic District has made a profound impact. Diane has voluntarily served the Historic District committee for over 20 years. She worked to nominate the district to the National Register.

Read more

Lois Weisberg, Chicago

Preservation Leadership

The award honored Chicago Cultural Affairs Commissioner Lois Weisberg’s commitment to the Chicago Cultural Center. In June 1991, the Chicago Public Library moved out of this grand historic structure, leaving it vacant. Thanks to the vision and determination of Lois Weisberg, this 1897 landmark has retained its dignity and usefulness.

Read more

Historic Evanston Four Walking Tours of the Ridge and Lakeshore Historic District, Evanston


The award honored Anne O. Earle, Mary McWilliams and Hal Davis for creating the booklet that guides you on your own personal, interactive tour of Historic Evanston that is both educational and enjoyable.

Read more

Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member