about us  online store  download forms  join us










Recent Past





(photo left to right)  Ben Weese, Jack Hartray, Don Hackl, Otto Stark, John Vinci, Joe Rosa


Mid-Century Modern Architects Panel Discussion

A panel discussion with Mid-Century Modern architects was sponsored by Landmarks Illinois and AIA Chicago as the opening event for Landmarks Illinois’ 2007 Statewide Preservation Conference held in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood in June. Local architecture icons discussed their prolific careers, via an open dialogue, and offered the audience an unparalleled opportunity to visit the era firsthand through personal accounts, anecdotes and experiences.

The discussion included the academic forces influencing design interests, economic and cultural divides, emerging technologies, Chicago’s “incubator” firms (and the work and personnel they produced) and the life-long partnerships and friendships developed alongside professional competitions. Participants gave their thoughts on the preservation community now embracing the need to protect the Mid-Century architecture they produced.

A transcript of the lively discussion with architects Ben Weese, Jack Hartray, John Vinci, Otto Stark and Don Hackl, moderated by Joseph Rosa, can be accessed through the Architects Panel Transcript.PDF.



Recent Past Links


Chicago Bauhaus and Beyond

Documenting and Preservation Modern Movement Architecture

Illinois Cities Highlighting Recent Past



Mid-Century Modern Commercial Resources


Recent Past Preservation Network

Rest Area History






Landmarks Illinois
30 N. Michigan Avenue
Suite 2020
Chicago, IL 60602-3402
tel. 312-922-1742 
fax 312-922-8112



home              top              help              sitemap              donate             membership              email us  


© Landmarks Illinois. All rights reserved. In addition to the copyright to this collective work, copyright to the materials which appear on this site may be held by the individual authors or others. Landmarks Illinois is a tax exempt 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1971 and is the state's leading voice for historic preservation.