



March 7, 2022

Dear Illinois Congressional Delegation,

As representatives of communities along and adjacent to the Route 66 corridor or as representatives of organizations that have a keen interest in Route 66, we write in support of H.R. 3600, a bill that would designate Route 66 as a National Historic Trail. We believe designating Route 66 as a National Historic Trail will help preserve and promote the road itself as well as increase economic development opportunities for the communities that have long supported its cultural heritage, intrinsic qualities and idiosyncratic character.

In 2026, travelers from across the world will embark on a yearlong centennial celebration of Route 66, the Mother Road. Each year, tens of thousands of visitors spend millions of dollars to traverse Route 66. Domestic and international travelers are in search of the nostalgia and historic character that Route 66 provides. Driving Route 66 retraces the past by experiencing its heritage, culture and the stories it has to tell. The simple experience of driving the road, taking in the landscape, witnessing the charm and uniqueness of the communities that line the road and meeting the diverse people the road supports, is at the heart of many Route 66 experiences.

Route 66 is a remarkable road, and its historic significance cannot be disputed. It is far-reaching, stretching from Chicago to Santa Monica, and it provides not only a way to navigate history, but also a way to support the people and businesses that provide economic development for their communities. The route is an economic force for Illinois tourism and the seven other states it spans. However, promotion and preservation are still ongoing challenges, and economic development resources remain limited.

In 1999, Congress created the Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program, which expired in 2019. In 2005, Route 66 was designated a National Scenic Byway to promote tourism, preserve the distinct character of and address the slow deterioration of assets along the Mother Road. In 2019, Congress created a Route 66 Centennial Commission. The great State of Illinois approved a state-level Route 66 Centennial Commission in 2018. In anticipation of the Centennial celebration, only five short years away, the next step to preserve, promote and ignite tourism opportunities along the corridor is to designate Route 66 as a National Historic Trail.

A National Historic Trail portrays an image of our nation's diverse history; Route 66 embodies everything a National Historic Trail should. Shortly after World War II, America witnessed a major change in culture. People began to move and travel outside of their communities. Personal automobiles made travel and exploration easier and more affordable, and Route 66 made the freedom of the road attainable for most, but not all. Designating Route 66 as a National Historic Trail will ensure the road remains one of the most popular driving destinations in the world and will provide a permanent program to preserve, promote and economically revitalize Route 66.

Furthermore, this designation will foster an environment to explore a more equitable and inclusive review of Route 66, specifically focusing on Green Book locations. A National Historic Trail designation will enable Route 66 communities to thrive, provide opportunities to tell numerous known and unknown compelling stories of the road and it will create a favorable environment for our communities to maximize the opportunity of the Centennial celebration.

Sincerely,

Bonnie McDonald Bonnie McDonald, CEO

Landmarks Illinois

Casey Claypool, Executive Director Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway

Melypool

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum

Christina Shutt, Executive Director

Michael Parkinson, Mayor

City of Granite City

Arts Alliance Illinois

Claire Rice, Executive Director

City of Lincoln

Peggy Bateman, City Clerk

Atlanta Public Library and Museum

Christina Vannoy, Director

City of Litchfield

Steve Dougherty, Mayor

Bloomington-Normal Area CVB

Crystal Howard, President & CEO

City of Lockport

Steve Streit, Mayor

City of Atlanta

Adam McVey, Mayor

City of Mount Olive

John Skertich, Mayor

City of Collinsville

John Miller, Mayor

City of Virden

George Murphy, Mayor

City of Countryside

Sean McDermott, Mayor

County of DuPage

Dan Cronin, Board Chairman

City of Joliet

Bob O'Dekirk, Mayor

County of Kankakee

Andrew Wheeler, Board Chairman

City of East St. Louis

Robert Eastern, Mayor

County of Madison

Curt Prensler, Board Chairman

City of Gillespie

John Hicks, Mayor

County of Montgomery

Evan Young, Board Chairman

County of Sangamon

Andy Van Meter, Board Chairman

County of Will

Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant, County Executive

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

Jeff Saulsbery, Site Superintendent

Downtown Springfield Inc

Kayla Graven, Executive Director

Edwards Place Historic Home

Sarah Adams, Curator

Edwardsville Children's Museum

Kristen Fries, Superintendent

Elijah Iles House Foundation

James Cornelius, President

Gaylord Building Historic Site

Dennis Cremin, Board Chairman

Great Rivers and Routes Tourism Bureau

Cory Jobe, President & CEO

J.H. Hawes Grain Elevator Historic Site

Bill Thomas, Director

Heritage Corridor CVB

Bob Navarro, President & CEO

Illinois Association of Museums

Jean Schultz Angel, Board President

Illinois Heritage Association

Patricia Miller, Executive Director

Illinois State Museum

Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko, Director

Illinois Main Street

Joi Austin. Director

Joliet Area Historical Museum

Greg Peerbolte, CEO

Joliet Area Chamber of Commerce

Mike Paone, Vice President

Logan County Tourism Bureau

Alice Roate, Executive Director

Plainfield-Shorewood Chamber of Commerce

Tasha Marsaglia, Executive Director

Pontiac Tourism Office

Liz Vincent, Tourism Director

Route History

Stacy Grundy, Vice President

Route 66 Road Ahead Partnership

Bill Thomas, Chairman

Springfield CVB

Scott Dahl, Director

Slovenian Heritage Museum

Georgene Agnich, Special Projects Director

Slovenian Union of America

Mary Lou Voelck, President

Village of Bolingbrook

Mary Alexander-Basta, Mayor

Village of Braceville

Dave Wright, Mayor

Village of Brookfield

Michael Garvey, Village President

Village of Burr Ridge

Gary Grasso, Mayor

Village of Channahon

Missey Moorman-Schumacher, President

Village of Divernon

Jim Copelin, Village President

Village of Elkhart

Lyle Fout, Village President

Village of Fairmont City

Michael Suarez, Village President

Village of Farmersville

Doug Orr, Village President

Village of Gardner

Mike Serena, Mayor

Village of Odell

Brian Mills, Village President

Village of Plainfield

John Argoudelis, Mayor

Village of Wilmington

Ben Dietz, Mayor

Village of Hamel

Larry Bloemker, Mayor

Village of Chatham

Dave Kimsey, Village President

Will County Historical Museum

Sandy Vasko, Executive Director