Illinois Historic Preservation Legislative Caucus

Bipartisan House & Senate Support for Historic Preservation Legislative Caucus

 The Illinois Historic Preservation Legislative Caucus, since its formation in late 2005, has been a voice for historic preservation policy and legislation. This year four legislators have agreed to co-chair the caucus: Sen. Pamela Althoff, (R) McHenry, Sen. Andy Manar, (D) Bunker Hill, Rep. Steve Andersson (R) Geneva, and Rep. Jerry Costello II, (D) Smithton.

With over 60 members from both the House and Senate, the Historic Preservation Caucus is one of the largest issue-based caucuses in the Illinois Legislature. Only two other states have an historic preservation legislative caucus: Washington (1989) and Hawaii (2006). A third is being organized in Maryland.

What You Can Do

  • If your legislator has joined the caucus, please thank him/her and convey how important historic preservation is to you and your community.
  • If your legislator has not joined, please urge him/her to do so. Legislators interested in joining the Illinois Historic Preservation Caucus should contact Shauna Kalaskie in the office of Senator Pam Althoff at (217) 782-8000.

Members of the Caucus

Illinois Caucus Letter to Illinois House Ways and Means Members

Historic Preservation Caucus Revived May 07, 2013


Support our advocacy

Be a voice for the future of our communities by supporting Landmarks Illinois. Our work enhances communities, empowers citizens, promotes local economic development and offers environmentally sound solutions.

Become A Member